Kernel – Movie News and Reviews

A Beginner’s Guide To: Star Wars

3 min read

So, you’ve heard everyone talk about this very popular film series Star Wars. With the release of its last episode this December, you want to get into it but don’t know where to start. To be fair, it can be quite daunting to get into Star Wars, but don’t worry because Kernel is here to help you out!

What is Star Wars?

Firstly, it might be a good idea to look at what Star Wars is? Star Wars is a space-fantasy saga that started in 1977 and is still telling stories in that same timeline to this day. It tells a story of good versus evil over the course of three trilogies; the original trilogy (released 1977-1983), the prequel trilogy (released 1999-2005) and the sequel trilogy (released 2015-2019). Each trilogy features some new characters and some from other trilogies, making it all one connected story. There are also two separate stories that focus on one aspect of the overall story. You can watch these, but also skip them.

In what order should you watch Star Wars?

The official order to watch the Star Wars films in is as follows:

– Episode I: The Phantom Menace

– Episode II: Attack of the Clones

– Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

– Solo: A Star Wars Story

– Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

– Episode IV: A New Hope

– Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

– Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

– Episode VII: The Force Awakens

– Episode VIII: The Last Jed-

– Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker

Another way to watch the films is with the machete order. This was created by fans online and conserves some of the surprises of the original trilogy. You start with episodes IV and V, then watch episodes I-III and then continue with episodes VI-IX. You skip the stand alone films with this order.

Who is the main character of Star Wars?

Each Star Wars trilogy has its own main character through which we follow the story.

For the Prequel Trilogy, we follow Anakin Skywalker, a Jedi Knight (noble warriors) who gets seduced to the dark side and becomes the evil Darth Vader.

In the Original Trilogy we follow Luke Skywalker, Anakin’s son who (along with his friends Han Solo and Princess Leia) defeats the evil Empire and turn his father back from the dark side.

In the Sequel Trilogy we follow Rey, a mysterious scavenger who discovers she’s strong in the force and gets trained by Luke Skywalker. In the end, she is the one who has to defeat Kylo Ren (the son of Han Solo and Princess Leia who has turned evil after idolizing his grandfather, Darth Vader) and save the galaxy for the last time.

Is there Star Wars material besides the films?

Certainly! After Disney bought the rights to Star Wars in 2012, they began creating an official extended universe consisting of TV shows, books, video games and even theme parks. You can for instance watch The Clone Wars (TV show), read Aftermath (book), play Battlefront II (video game) or visit Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge (theme park land in Disneyland and Walt Disney World).

Why should I watch Star Wars?

Star Wars has been the most influential film series of the last decade. Many filmmakers that you may know from several projects (Kevin Feige, the Russo brothers, Christopher Nolan, Jon Favreau and more) have been inspired by it. It’s also one of the few film series that has spanned over multiple generations. With Disney now owning the rights, Star Wars is sure to continue for a couple of more years! So if you don’t want to miss out, there is plenty of time to get into the story that happened a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away.

To learn more about Star Wars the second best thing to do after watching the 8 films, is to check out my previous article on why Star Wars is so popular. Stay tuned on Kernel for all the latest Star Wars news!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *